How long does it take to earn the certificate?
The certificate in cannabis law consists of five self-paced online courses. The certificate takes approximately three months, or 75 coursework hours, to complete.
Each student’s schedule and availability differ. Although you may complete the certificate in as little as six weeks, you have up to six months to complete it.
How do I access the courses?
You access the courses from an easy-to-use website. Courses typically contain a combination of video lectures, assigned readings, writing assignments, and quizzes. You work through the materials on your own schedule.
For some courses, each month there is typically a live session hosted by an instructor or industry expert. An announcement will be posted in each course which will include the option for you to submit questions or additional topics you would like to see addressed during the session. While attendance at these sessions is not required for the course, each will be topical to the overall Cannabis Law program and we strongly encourage you to attend the live sessions.
What is required to earn the cannabis law certificate?
You must pass each of the five courses in order to earn the cannabis law certificate. To pass a course you must view the course in its entirety, submit all written assignments, and submit and pass each quiz with a score of 100 percent. You have an unlimited number of attempts to take each quiz.
Is a textbook required? Do I need to purchase books?
There is no required textbook for the cannabis law courses. All materials are provided within the course or as links to external resources.
What is the cost of the program?
Individual courses are $1,000 per course. If you purchase all courses required for the certificate (five courses), the cost is $4,500.
Do I need a JD to enroll in the courses?
A JD is preferred but not required. You can succeed in the courses without a JD.
Is there an application process or fee?
There is no application fee or process for the cannabis law certificate.
How do I enroll?
To enroll, create an account and purchase courses on the cannabis certificate registration site.
When do courses begin? Can I enroll at any time?
You can enroll and begin courses at any time.
What are the technical requirements for the online programs?
You need a computer and high-speed internet.
I live in a state outside of California. Can I enroll in the cannabis law courses?
Per the Department of Education, we must be authorized to educate students in any particular state, therefore only students from pre-authorized states may participate in this program. If your state is not on the list below, please send us an email for future options. States where McGeorge School of Law has obtained state authorization:
Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
Who can I contact for help or more information?
For information about the program, contact Katjana Wurschum:
McGeorge School of Law Graduate Admissions